Political Prisoners

23/04/17 - उजड़ता लोकतंत्र - यूएपीए और राजनैतिक मुकदमें

पीपल्स यूनियन फॉर डेमोक्रेटिक राइट्स (पीयूडीआर)

आम सभा निमंत्रण

उजड़ता लोकतंत्र - यूएपीए और राजनैतिक मुकदमें


वक्ता – अरुण फरेरा (कमिटी फॉर प्रोटेक्शन ऑफ़ डेमोक्रेटिक राइट्स, मुंबई), शरफुद्दीन अहमद (पीपल्स मूवमेंट अगेंस्ट यूएपीए, केरल), गौतम नवलखा (पीयूडीआर, दिल्ली)


दिनांक – 23 अप्रैल 2017, समय – शाम 3.45 बजे, जगह – आईएसआई, लोधी रोड, साईं मंदिर के पास, नई दिल्ली, जवालाहर लाल नेहरु स्टेडियम मेट्रो स्टेशन के पास


23/04/2017 - Eroded Democracy: The Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA) & Political Trials


Public Meeting Invite

Eroded Democracy: The Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA) & Political Trials


Speakers: Arun Ferreira (Committee for the Protection of Democratic Rights, Mumbai), Sharfuddin Ahmed (People’s Movement Against UAPA, Kerala), Gautam Navlakha (People’s Union for Democratic Rights, Delhi)


CDRO condemns the arrest of Fact Finding team by Telangana police

CDRO  strongly condemns the arrest of a 7 member Fact Finding team by the Telangana police at Dummagudem village of Bhadrachalam district on 25th December, 2016 at 6 pm and in turn handing them over to the Sukma Police (Chhattisgarh State). We also strongly object to the way Sukma Police foisted false cases against the Fact Finding team members under Sections 8(1),(2) (3)and (5) of the Chhattisgarh State Public Security Act.

Public Meeting: Politics of Banning, Political Prisoners and the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act

People’s Union for Democratic Rights (PUDR)

invites you to a

Public Meeting


Politics of Banning, Political Prisoners and

the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act



Mohammad Shoaib (Senior lawyer and President of Rihai Manch, Uttar Pradesh)

Abhishek Mukherjee (Student leader, Jadavpur University, West Bengal)

Harish Dhawan (PUDR activist, Delhi)


UAPA: An alibi for political vendetta - CDRO

CDRO (Coordination of Democratic Rights Organizations) unequivocally condemns the judgement of the Midnapore (West Bengal) district and sessions court on 12th May, 2015, convicting Chatradhar Mahato, spokesperson of the Peoples Committee against Police Atrocities (PCPA) of Lalgarh, along with Sukhshanti Baske, treasurer of the PCPA, Sambhu Soren and Sagun Murmu, members of PCPA and Raja (Tinku) Sarkhel and Prasun Chattopadhyay, members of Gana Pratirodh Manch for sedition and waging war against the state

Condemn Conviction of Chhatradhar Mahato and Five Others by Midnapore District Court

PUDR strongly condemns the decision of the Midnapore District Court to award life-sentences to Chhatradhar Mahato, Sukhsanti Baske, Shambhu Soren,Sagun Murmu, Raja Sarkhel and Prasun Chatterjee. All six were arrested between September and October 2009 from Lalgarh and Kolkata on charges of being Maoists and for backing a Maoist front organization, People’s Committee against Police Atrocities (PCPA) and charged under sections of the UAPA, Arms Act, Explosives Substances Act and IPC.

Condemn attacks on Political Prisoners in Nagpur and Madurai Central jails

 PUDR strongly condemns the recent attacks by police and jail officials on undertrial political prisoners, Hem Mishra and Vivekananda, in Nagpur and Madurai Central prisons, respectively. On 20 March 2015, when Hem Mishra was being taken to the Government Medical Hospital for treatment, he was beaten up by the police because he demanded that he be freed of handcuffs. The police assaulted him, tore off his shirt and threatened to ‘see’ him.

Subscribe to RSS - Political Prisoners